Advertisement
How-To

How to Delete, Restore and Back Up a Notion Workspace

You don’t have to delete your Notion account to trash a Workspace. Here, we’ll tech you how to delete a Notion Workspace. We’ll also teach you how to back up a Notion Workspace before deletion, and how restore a Notion Workspace in case you take a wrong turn and need to roll it back — whether you backed it up manually or not.

Jump: 

How to Delete a Notion Workspace

Unfortunately, you can’t delete a Notion Workspace using the Notion App for Android or iOS: You’ll need to download Notion for Mac or Windows, or use Notion for Web. Once you’re all set up with one of those clients, the process is simple and should take no more than a couple of seconds, from start to finish.

  • Select Settings & Members from the left sidebar, then click Settings.
  • Scroll down to Danger Zone and select Delete Entire Workspace.
  • Enter the name of your workspace to confirm the deletion.

Now you’ve gone ahead and deleted your Notion Workspace, you may want to take a look at our list of the best Notion alternatives for ideas to set up camp next. You may also want to take a look at our comparison of Notion vs Evernote — be warned, though: This will have you looking up how to restore a Notion Workspace.

Advertisement
Continue Reading Below

If you’re deleting your Notion Workspace because you’re ditching Notion altogether, don’t forget to uninstall the Notion Chrome Extension or whichever version of the Notion Web Clipper you’re using, something most people forget about, as well as any local versions of the application you’ve installed on your devices.

How to Back Up a Notion Workspace

Notion makes it incredibly easy to back up your Workspace. You can choose to save a navigational copy to your local disk in HTML, or you can download it as a PDF or Markdown & CSV. Depending on the amount of content you have stored in your Workspace, this can take anywhere from a few minutes to an hour to complete.

  • Select Settings & Members from the left sidebar, then click Settings.
  • Scroll down to Export Content and select Export all Workspace Content.
  • Choose the format and content to be included, then click Export.

How to Restore a Notion Workspace

If you’ve lost a file or deleted a Notion Workspace by accident, you have thirty days from the date of deletion to recover it in its entirety — regardless of whether you made a local back up or not. If you did, getting it set up is as simple as importing the export to your new Workspace and letting Notion work its magic.

However, if you didn’t make a back up, you can call on Notion to restore your Workspace. It keeps per-minute backups of its entire database, which allows it to restore your entire content at any minute if you need it. Just shoot an email to team@makenotion.com with your request and they’ll take care of the rest.

If you’ve followed the steps to restore your Notion account and your Notion Workspace, you may want to spend some time reviewing the Notion pricing structure. While the service is completely free to use, upgrading to a Notion Personal Pro subscription could remove any barriers that may have driven you away.

Be the First to Know When New Notion Templates Are Added to Our Collection

You can unsubscribe at any time and we'll never share your details without your permission.

Back to top button