Slack

How to Delete a Channel in Slack

Don’t feel like archiving a channel in Slack and want to delete it entirely instead? You’ve come to the right place — we’ll walk you through the steps to delete a channel in Slack. Just keep in mind that you will need to be an administrator in order to do this. Here’s how to delete a channel in Slack.

Prerequisites

Deleting a channel in Slack isn’t the same as archiving it. When you delete a Slack channel, all of of the messages are removed from Slack immediately. This can’t be undone, even if you reach out to Slack Support, so think carefully before proceeding. You’ll almost always be better off archiving instead of deleting.

How to Delete a Channel in Slack

  1. Right-click on the channel you want to delete in the Channels section of the sidebar.
  2. Next, select Open Channel Details from the list, then click the Settings tab.
  3. Click the Delete this Channel button, and confirm the deletion.

Why You’re Seeing Slack on Notion Wizard

Yes, we’re Notion experts. And yes, we think Notion is the best productivity tool in all the land. But we don’t live in a silo. We’ve used all the leading Notion alternatives out there, and we’re here to spread knowledge in any way we can. That’s why you’ll occasionally see some content about another tool like Slack on Notion Wizard.

Be the First to Know When New Notion Templates Are Added to Our Collection

You can unsubscribe at any time and we'll never share your details without your permission.

Back to top button