Advertisement
Learn

Does Notion Save Automatically?

Working on a document in Notion? You’ll find solace in the fact the changes you make automatically save in the background as you make them – like Evernote and Google Docs. Everything is stored in the cloud, with Notion creating a per-minute backup of the content on its server so you can revert to an old version – provided you’re a Personal Pro subscriber – at any time.

Autosave works across all locations where Notion is available, including Android and iOS. Keep in mind though that an internet connection is required to save the changes; anything altered offline will not be saved until the next time your device is connected to the internet. To combat potential data loss, we recommend making a copy of the changes locally while working offline.

Don’t Forget to Back up Your Data Too

While Notion backs up all of your changes to its server, there’s no harm in having a copy stored locally too. Every once in a while it’s worth exporting a copy of your workspace for safekeeping. This lets you download all of your pages and databases, as well as any files and images you’ve uploaded. We suggest uploading this backup to a cloud storage solution like Dropbox.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Select Settings & Members from the left-hand sidebar.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Scroll down and select Export All Workplace Content.
  4. Click the link in the confirmation email to download the backup.

Be the First to Know When New Notion Templates Are Added to Our Collection

You can unsubscribe at any time and we'll never share your details without your permission.

Back to top button